CollectionDX Network

Alteisen

Comments

15 comments posted
I'd like to see Ialdabaoth

I'd like to see Ialdabaoth or Thrudgelmir, but until that dream comes true, I'll be more than happy with an Alt.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 2 September, 2008 - 09:37
If you are really itching

If you are really itching for a Thrudgelmir Volks did release one, although its expensive and most likely hard to come by.

http://pony-hp2.web.infoseek.co.jp/SLADEGELMIR.htm

Anavel's picture
Posted by Anavel on 2 September, 2008 - 09:48
Of the little I know about

Of the little I know about SRW and the mecha in it, this is the only one I want since it doesn't have a Gundam-imitator feel to it. Some thicker, overlapping armor is pretty cool, too, and while the red isn't quite the shade I'd put on mine, I think this one would be worth it.

I just found that there are two versions of this guy- this one, and an older one. How's the difference there (other than the LED)?
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 2 September, 2008 - 11:54
Their other kit is 1/144

Their other kit is 1/144 scale, and the construction quality doesn't really compare to this one. There are a lot of poorly placed seams, and it requires a lot more painting.

Anavel's picture
Posted by Anavel on 2 September, 2008 - 12:09
These kits aren't without

These kits aren't without faults, I've built three: Wild Falken, Wild Wruger, and Dygenguar. The Falken's quite fragile: Falls together with the slightest pressure applied and I had a hard time getting Dygenguar to hold together(First kit I made that required I used super glue, I'll probably get another one due to the amount of mistakes I made) but the fact that they don't require alot of painting looks nice, they look good just straight out of the boxes.

Speaking of which, I'm thinking about getting the Alt, but how is it in terms of stability? Did it give you any problems while building it?

Decade010's picture
Posted by Decade010 on 2 September, 2008 - 12:19
It is very stable, you can

It is very stable, you can get it into a lot of cool poses.

I did have one peg broken off in the package on the leg, I just put a dab of glue where the peg was and it worked fine. A couple pieces I forgot to put in initially. Pay close attention to the instructions, Kotobukiya's are not always as clear as Bandai or Wave.

Anavel's picture
Posted by Anavel on 2 September, 2008 - 14:18
I like

Alteisen. Even more than Huckenbein. From your review, I think it's a great kit. Too bad the price a bid steep. It cost more than your average Master Grade.

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 2 September, 2008 - 20:18
Great review Anavel!

This figure looks great! Awesome job on the assembly Anavel! Josh and I would also like to thank Shingo Nakagawa at Kotobukiya for being so generous by hooking CollectionDX up with this great kit.

-Dan

CollectionDX Staff

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 2 September, 2008 - 21:18
hm.....

*drooling sequence start*
definitely a must have for Super Robot Wars fan. and for some reasons, i think this line might provide a different fun than making gundams.

life needs to be bittersweet;
you work the sweet side, and i'll manage to embitter it.

lurino's picture
Posted by lurino on 2 September, 2008 - 23:49
my first time

ive visited this site quite alot in the past year but never signed up till just now. pretty much because of this kit, this thing is totally ace. never been into these sort of kits beofore as i only really collect transformers and the revoltech figures that i like. but this is something i had to have and looking at the pics of that Wildwurger makes me want it even more.

I've never seen anything this beautiful in the entire galaxy - okay, give me the bomb

godmagnus1's picture
Posted by godmagnus1 on 3 September, 2008 - 13:24
Question:..........

Question: did you do some painting in alteisen?

Bahim Z 360's picture
Posted by Bahim Z 360 on 3 September, 2008 - 13:31
I painted the silver on the

I painted the silver on the inside of the shoulder weapons, and the orange on the thrusters on the rear skirt armor. Other areas that need paint are the insides of the parts on the back of the shoulders, and the triangles on the front of the shoulders, but I decided not to paint these.

Any panel lines, or areas of black detail I added with thinned acrylic paint or a .04 gundam marker

Anavel's picture
Posted by Anavel on 3 September, 2008 - 14:36
I'd also like to point out

I'd also like to point out the Kyosuke figure looks like Excellen is about to assault him.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 3 September, 2008 - 21:08
I've never played SRW in any

I've never played SRW in any of its incarnations, but I just wanted to say that I do concept art for films and recently designed a robot for a short that was based off various pieces of 19th century English revolvers. Point being I thought it was an original idea that the forearms were cylinders. Now I feel the cold hand of fate; that I'll never be able to 1-up the Japanese.

Anyhow, great review. Did you have to wire the LED or was the entire feature preassembled?

Jetjagaa's picture
Posted by Jetjagaa on 4 September, 2008 - 23:40
The led comes soldered with

The led comes soldered with leads and contacts on it. You simply install it while building the head, and route the wires through the neck and upper torso.

Anavel's picture
Posted by Anavel on 5 September, 2008 - 15:12
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net